Home   +   Featured Vehicles   +   General Info   +   Park Over

Coach House Museum

We have three new items on display [from left to right] - a half size model of a S. E. World War 1 bi-plane which was constructed by Arnold Curtis;  a 1924 Douglas Special motorcycle [which is unique in that it has been fitted with a Douglas aircraft engine] restored by a local collector;  and a 1927 Indian Prince Racer motorcycle, which raced in Palmerston North from 1927 to 1934 and is owned and has been restored to its original racing configuration by a local collector.     

                       

The Coach House Museum is home to an outstanding collection of New Zealand heritage, showcasing over 140 years of rural history.  There is a comprehensive display of horse-drawn vehicles ranging from heavy vehicles used to establish the district, through to the social and commercial vehicles used by settlers, traders and farmers.  Historic farm machinery and agricultural equipment used by farmers in the region, and settler lifestyle displays from the horse-drawn era and beyond can be seen.  One of the rarest and internationally significant items of machinery in our Museum collection can be found within the Spall Collection - an impressive private collection of restored vehicles and stationary engines, including the rare "Fitch Four" tractor [one of only a few in existence world-wide).

                     

A passion for all things 'John Deere' has culminated in Otaki farmer, Ferg Crawshaw's outstanding collection of historic John Deere tractors and machinery.  Over 30 vehicles and machines have been painstakingly restored by one dedicated John Deere man and are now proudly displayed for all enthusiasts to enjoy.  The collection is based around those early tractors and implements produced during the late thirties, forties and early fifties.  Two trips were made to the USA to acquire five additional tractors, one of which is very rare, to fill out the collection.

Community Archive

Co-located at the Coach House Museum, the Feilding & District Community Archive plays an important role in receiving and cataloging donated community records, some of which were previously held by the Manawatu District Council and Feilding Public Library, from 1875 to the present day.  The Archive is open to the public every Thursday from 10am to 4pm, and at other times by appointment, when access to the Archives computerised database 'Past Perfect' and document photocopying services are available.

                                                            





t