on the graphic to zoom larger ...
Camera Collection ...
Mandahl's Collection of Photographic Equipment is currently on
Come and have a look at this extensive collection which also
includes some amazing local photos.
On long term loan .....
we have three new items
on display [from left to right] - a half size model of a S. E.
World War 1 bi-plane which was constructed by Arnold
Curtis; a 1924 Douglas Special motorcycle [which is
unique in that it has been fitted with a Douglas aircraft
engine] restored by a local collector; and a 1927 Indian
Prince Racer motorcycle, which raced in Palmerston North from
1927 to 1934 and is owned and has been restored to its
original racing configuration by a local
collector. And to make up the trio, a 1926 Douglas
motorcyle has joined our exhibition.
Coach House Museum is home to an outstanding collection of New
Zealand heritage, showcasing over 140 years of rural
history. There is a comprehensive display of horse-drawn
vehicles ranging from heavy vehicles used to establish the
district, through to the social and commercial vehicles used
by settlers, traders and farmers. Historic farm
machinery and agricultural equipment used by farmers in the
region, and settler lifestyle displays from the horse-drawn
era and beyond can be seen. One
of the rarest and internationally significant items of
machinery in our Museum collection can be found within the
Spall Collection - an impressive private collection of
restored vehicles and stationary engines, including the rare
"Fitch Four" tractor [one of only a few in existence
story of dairy farming in New Zealand is explored alongside
the history of the Cheltenham Co-op Dairy Factory - the first
dried milk powder, and the beginnings of the world renowned
global company Glaxo. When the ship Dunedin
left New Zealand on 15 February 1882 with the first shipment
of frozen meat on board, she also carried a small quantity of
frozen butter. When the butter was then sold in England
in perfect condition, dairy farming in New Zealand was changed
passion for all things 'John Deere' has culminated in Otaki
farmer, Ferg Crawshaw's outstanding collection of historic
John Deere tractors and machinery. Over 30 vehicles and
machines have been painstakingly restored by one dedicated
John Deere man and are now proudly displayed for all
enthusiasts to enjoy.
collection is based around those early tractors and implements
produced during the late thirties, forties and early
fifties. Two trips were made to the USA to acquire five
additional tractors, one of which is very rare, to fill out
co-located at the Coach House Museum; the Feilding and
District Community Archive plays an important role in receiving
and cataloging donated community records, some of which were
previously held by the Manawatu District Council and Feilding
Public Library, from 1875 to the present day. The
Archive is open to the public every Thursday from 10am to 4pm,
and at other times by appointment, when access to the
computerised database 'Past Perfect' is available.